Anniversary Celebration

2021 marks the kick off of SYTA’s Twenty Five Years of Student Travel.

Over our rich history, the association has grown, the industry has evolved and we’ve impacted the lives of students everywhere. It is our goal to celebrate the people, our impact, and history over the next 365 days. Please check back often as we update this page with details of our celebration and memories to celebrate!

Thank you to the individuals listed below for their leadership over the past twenty-five years. Your commitment, dedication, and passion for our association is evident in the growth we’ve seen. Without you, we would not be where we are today. Thank you for paving the path towards to the future!

Past SYTA Presidents

Steve Maehl, Global Travel Alliance, 2020-2021
Urte Land, AdvantEdge Tours, 2019-2020
Justin Shuler, Group Travel Network, 2018-2019
Marc Reiter, Unique Tours & Travel, 2017-2018
Michael Grueninger, Grueninger Music Tours, 2016-2017
Terry Valentine, Valentine & Associates, 2015-2016
Andy Davidson, Retired, – 2014-2015
Michael Bowers, Travel Safety Solutions, 2013-2014
Shannan Carter, LIVE Travel & Tours, 2012-2013
Bud Geissler, Group Collect, 2011-2012
Patrick Connor, Merlin Entertainment, 2010-2011
Kirk Troen, Animado Events, 2009-2010
Joh Krish, 2008-2009
Nancy Reiter, Unique Travels & Tours, 2007-2008
Greg Shipley, Academic Travel Services, Inc., 2006-2007
Nicole Asquith, 2005-2006
Judd Gerber, Gerber Tours, 2004-2005
Doug Ellison, Ellison Travel & Tours, 2003-2004
Greg Moore, 2002-2003
Bryan Cole, Super Holiday Tours, 2001-2002
Neal Waldman, iWaldman College and Academic Consulting, 2000-2001
Ripley Hunter, Worldstrides, 1999-2000
Earl Grossman, Worldstrides, 1998-1999
Bruce Bitnoff, 1997-1998

SYTA Youth Foundation Past Chairs

Robin Parker, Kaleidoscope Adventures, 2020-2021
Barbara McCormack, Newseum, 2019-2020
Bud Geissler, Group Collect, 2018-2019
Bruce Rickert, Peak Performance Tours, 2017-2018
Sheelagh Wylie, Love Great Britain, 2016-2017
Eric Marshall, Universal Orlando, 2015-2016
Kirk Troen, Animado Events, 2014-2015
Denise George, Receptively Yours, 2013-2014
Kevin Herlihy, Travel Insured International, 2012-2013
Kerry Montgomery, 2011-2012
Marie Martin, LEAD USA, 2010-2011
Kasie Smith, Serendipity Media, 2009-2010
Bob Hofmann, Broadway Inbound, 2008-2009
Jill Gleason, 2007-2008
Keith Snode, Kaleidoscope Adventures, 2006-2007
Bryan Cole, Super Holiday Tours, 2005-2006
Neal Waldman, iWaldman College and Academic Consulting, 2004-2005
Cindy Brown, Boston Duck Tours, 2003-2004
Ripley Hunter, Worldstrides, 2000-2003